Valentines Day

Posted: February 13, 2009 in Blogroll, excerpt, Fun Stuff

From the diary of Shannon Wallace….

Love.

It’s only a word, right?

Except I keep thinking it’s a word I do not have in my life. Well, where a man is concerned anyway. Aunt Til and Aunt Nan will love me regardless. We’re family, it’s a requirement.

Dwayne thinks I should be more friendly with Sal. I think not. I mean a cop for a friend is one thing. A cop for a boyfriend, well, that’s another story.

But Sam Harper keeps telling me to trust Ramirez. I guess that cop brotherhood thing goes deeper than I know. He WOULD say that. He has to. They are both badgers.

Still, it would be nice to come home from the shop and see a man standing outside my apartment all dressed in sexy jeans and a button down with flowers filling his arms and a kiss all ready for me.

But I am afraid. Afraid of commitment, afraid of what happened the last time I gave my heart away. There is nothing quite so devastating as death. It’s so final.

So. This Valentines Day, I think I will just sleep in, stay in my PJs and watch old movies. Maybe I’ll make some popcorn. Maybe I’ll buy a big bag of candy and eat the whole thing.

Comments
  1. Sam Harper says:

    Shannon, sometimes life calls for a leap of faith. Trust me on this one. Who would have known that Friday the 13th was going to be my lucky day. Since you left me another message on http://samharpercrimescene.blogspot.com/2009/02/inconvenient-truth.html I assume you know what I’m talking about.

    Hang in there, kid.
    Sam

Leave a Reply

